Advisory groups, and maintenance groups  to support the work

Outreach advisory group*

The advisory group on outreach was established at the Adelaide plenary in October 2001. The advisory group shall develop a marketing strategy, marketing information and be responsible for the programmes of future workshops together with the secretariat.

Terms of reference include: Create awareness, Enable education and training, Facilitate adoption and implementation, Capture user requirements and feedback, Generate outreach resources and Maintain the ISO/TC 211 Business Plan.

Convenor: Ms. Lena Bengtsson (2017-12 -)


Advisory group on strategy**

An advisory group on strategic direction was established at the Kyoto plenary in September 1999, mainly to develop a business plan for the committee. The advisory group has continued to convene to discuss the analyze strategic directions and to identify relevant policies and/or options for the committee, and meet before each plenary. The head of delegation for each P-member are invited to the meetings.

Convenor: ISO/TC 211 chair


Programme maintenance group (PMG)*

The Programme Maintenance Group (PMG) shall monitor the published ISO/TC 211 standards, specifications, reports and the ISO/TC 211 programme of work, to ensure harmonization and consistency. The PMG shall also monitor changing requirements and technological developments to see whether the ISO/TC 211 programme of work is aligned to these.

The PMG chair, in consultation with the PMG members, may invite technical experts to assist with technical advice on programme maintenance related matters.

The PMG is responsible for two distinct aspects of programme maintenance that are done throughout the year: maintenance of existing standards and new work items

The PMG comprises of the ISO/TC 211 Chair, the working group convenors, TMG, HMMG, GOM, XMG and JAG convenors, and a maximum of one members can be nominated by each member body.

Read more in terms of reference (N 2515).

Convenor: Dr. Serena Coetzee, South Africa (2008-01 - )


ISO/TC 211 - OGC Joint Advisory Group (JAG)**  

JAG ensures coordination between ISO/TC 211 and the OGC. The harmonization and alignment of specifications and standards from the OGC and ISO/TC 211 will facilitate the development of interoperable geospatial architectures and software.

JAG also identifies issues and opportunities between ISO/TC 211 and the OGC and recommends cooperative activities.

The JAG comprises of the ISO/TC 211 Chair and Secretariat, the OGC Chief Technical Officer, the OGC Technical Committee Chair, the ISO/TC 211 Conveners and Project leaders and OGC Domain Working Group and Standard Working Group Chairs.

Read more in terms of reference (N 4003).

ISO/TC 211 co-convenor: Dr. Jean Brodeur, Canada, and OGC co-convenor: Mattew Purss,  Australia and Robert Gibb New Zealand


Harmonized Model Maintenance Group (HMMG)*

The Harmonized Model Maintenance Group was established at the Gyeongju plenary in November 2002, but was already established as the Model Harmonization Team sinc the Vienna plenary in March 1999.

The project leaders shall notify the HMMG of proposed changes to their UML models, and ensure their projects are harmonized with the remaining ISO/TC 211 projects and standards.

Co-convenor: Mr. John Herring, USA (2002-11 - ), Co-convenor: Mr. Knut Jetlund, Norway (2015-06 - )


Group for Ontology Maintenance (GOM)*

The Group for Ontology Maintenance was established by resolution 589 at the Toulouse plenary in June 2012.

The purpose of the Group for Ontology Maintenance is to ensure the development, the maintenance and the accessibility on the Web of ISO/TC 211 ontologies.

The GOM comprises the ISO/TC 211 Chair, the working group convenors, the advisory group convenors, Chairs of ISO/TC 211 joint groups, ISO/TC 211 project leaders, each P-member can nominate one expert in the group all members can nominate observers.

Read more in terms of reference (N 3577).

Convenor: Dr. Jean Brodeur, Canada (2012-06 - )


Terminology maintenance group (TMG)*

The Terminology maintenance group was established at the Adelaide plenary in October 2001.

The TMG maintains ISO/TC 211 terminology records, assist project teams and working groups with harmonising terminology.

The TMG administer, coordinate, maintain and publish a multi-lingual register of terminology.

The TMG comprises of all working group convenors, a member of each project team, a member of each national body participating in the multi-lingual register of terminology.

Convenor: Mr. Reese Plews, Japan (2017-06 - )


XML Maintenance Group (XMG)*

The XML Maintenance Group was established at the Quebec plenary in November 2009.

The XMG shall ensure that the ISO/TC 211 XML is collected, maintained and made accessible.

The XMG comprises of ISO/TC 211 Chair and working group convenors, Chair and editor of XML related project teams, convenors of the advisory groups PMG, TMG, HMMG and JAG and a maximum of one XMG member per member body is allowed.

Read more in terms of reference (N 2948).

Convenor: Dr. Ted Habermann, USA (2013-11 - )


Advisory group to support UN-GGIM and other related UN activities**

The advisory group was established at the Sydney plenary in December 2016 and re-form at the Copenhagen plenary in May 2018.

Convenor: ISO/TC 211 chair


Control body for the ISO geodetic register**

The control body was established at the Molde plenary in May 2009 and re-form at the Copenhagen plenary in May 2018.

The control body comprises of a maximum of two experts in the geodetic field per member body.

Read more in terms of reference (N 3153).

Convenor: Dr. Michael Craymer, Canada, nominated by IAG, Vice convenor: Mr. Larry Hothem, USA, nominated by IAG


  *open - the open groups are listed in global directory, to participate contact your national standardization body.

  **closed - the closed groups are not administrated by the national standardization body, to participate contact the secretariat.