The ISO 22000 family

The ISO 22000 family includes the following international standards, sector specific basic programs, guides and handbooks:

International standards

  • ISO 22000:2005 ‘Food safety management systems - Requirements for any organization in the food chain.’ The basic international standard for food safety management system: 
  • ISO 22004-2014 'Guidance on the application of ISO 22000:2005.' A guide in the use of  ISO 22000. 
  • ISO 22005-2007 'Traceability in the feed and food chain - General principles and basic.' An international standard that gives the principles and specifies basic requirements for the design and implementation of a feed and food traceability system.
  • ISO/TS 22003-2013 Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of food safety  management systems.' For certification within the ISO 22000 series. 

Supporting documents

As a support for ISO 22000 users, technical specifications with sector specific basic programs have been developed: 

  • ISO/TS 22002-1:2009 'Food manufacturing'
  • ISO/TS 22002-2:2013 'Catering'   
  • ISO/TS 22002-3:2011 'Farming'  
  • ISO/TS 22002-4:2013 'Food packaging manufacturing'
  • ISO/TS 22002-6:2016 'Feed and animal food production'


  • ISO 22000 - Are you ready (2007)
  • How to use ISO 22000 (2013)

Other publication

  • ISO/TS 22003:2013 with ISO/IEC 17021:2011 Conformity assessment - Requirements for bodies providing audit and certification of management systems can be found in a completed handbook.

Related links

Focus on

  • The revision of ISO 22000 FSMS
  • The development of ISO /TS 22002-6 Feed and animal food production