ISO 9001:2000 developers honoured with Lawrence D. Eicher Leadership Award

Время на чтение: Несколько минут

Эта новость из нашего архива

Опубликован на
Поделиться , ,

ISO's subcommittee responsible for the development of ISO 9001:2000 was presented with the Lawrence D. Eicher Leadership Award for excellence in creative and innovative standards development at ISO's General Assembly yesterday in Geneva, Switzerland.

"On behalf of all of ISO, I am pleased to present the award certificate and to offer our congratulations and thanks for the work accomplished efficiently, effectively and harmoniously," said Oliver Smoot, when presenting the Award to the subcommittee Secretary, Mr. Charles Corrie.

In presenting the Award, Oliver Smoot praised the subcommittee for its rigorous and demanding project management regime throughout the development process of ISO 9001:2000, its innovative approaches to receiving stakeholder input and its contribution to the dissemination of practices of excellence to other committees. He also congratulated the subcommittee "for having one of the highest rates of participation by developed and developing countries, all of whom benefit from the support of an excellent secretariat."

The British Standards Institution (BSI), ISO member for the United Kingdom, holds the secretariat of the subcommittee, under the Chairmanship of Dr. John Davies. The subcommittee, which brings together national delegations from 68 countries (59 participants and 9 observers), and liaises with 15 international organizations, is best known for developing ISO 9001:2000 and ISO 9004:2000 in the year 2000 revision of the ISO 9000 core series.

The recommendation to honour ISO/TC 176/SC 2 was made by ISO's Technical Management Board, which received eight nominations following a call to all member bodies last April.

The Lawrence D. Eicher Leadership Award was set up in 2002 by ISO Council to honour the memory of the late Dr. Lawrence D. Eicher, ISO Secretary-General from 1986 to 2002. This is the second time the prize has been awarded. The first Award, presented in 2003, was given to ISO/IEC JTC 1, Information Technology, SC 29, Coding of audio, picture, multimedia and hypermedia information.

Elizabeth Gasiorowski-Denis
Elizabeth Gasiorowski-Denis

+41 22 749 03 25
Контактные данные для СМИ

Вы журналист, блогер или редактор?

Хотите получить информацию о стандартах из первых рук, или узнать больше о том, что мы делаем? Свяжитесь с нашей командой или ознакомьтесь с нашим медиа-китом.

Будьте в курсе актуальных новостей ИСО

Подписывайтесь на наши новости, обзоры, а также на информацию о продуктах.